News & Media

Home > Racing & Tickets > Race Information > >News & Media > Press Releases > Ireland V Britain (Q.R) Handicap Chase Jockey Biographies

Ireland V Britain (Q.R) Handicap Chase Jockey Biographies

Monday, 11 February 2019 at 12:31PM


Patrick Mullins (Ireland)

Patrick has won the Champion Qualified Riders Crown for ten of the last eleven years and with well over 560 winners to his credit, he already holds the record of the most wins ever amassed by a Qualified Rider in Irish history. With four Cheltenham Festival victories to his credit, Patrick has also won a Galway Hurdle and a Ryanair Hurdle on Sharjah in recent months while other big race successes have come aboard Un De Sceaux in the 2018 BoyleSports Champion Chase at the Punchestown Festival and Wicklow Brave in the 2017 Punchestown Champion Hurdle.


Zac Baker (Britain)

Based at Nigel Twiston-Davies’s yard for 3 seasons, Zac’s most notable winners are the London National on BenBens and the Welsh Champion Hurdle on The New One.  He has enjoyed 33 winners under rules and 57 point-to-point winners.


Derek O’Connor (Ireland)

A multiple Champion Point To Point rider, Derek became the first jockey to ride 1000 Point To Point winners in February 2015 and he recently rode his 1200th winner in that sphere in December 2018. With three Cheltenham Festival winners to his credit, Derek is also the only Qualified Rider to date to win the Irish Gold Cup at Leopardstown, a feat he managed on the Joseph O’Brien trained Edwulf just over a year ago.



Alex Edwards (Britain)

Alex works for Philip Rowley and is reigning National Champion point-to-point rider.  He has ridden 31 winners under rules and 132 point-to-pointing.  Alex’s career highlight to date is his winning the Timico Mixed Open Gold Cup Final Hunters’ Chase at Cheltenham with Barel of Laughs last season. 

#JockeyProfiles #IrelandVBritain



Lisa O’Neill (Ireland)

Runner up to Patrick Mullins in last year’s Qualified Riders Championship, Lisa has really come to prominence over the past few years with a couple of high profile victories to her credit. She enjoyed a notable success on subsequent Aintree Grand National hero Tiger Roll in the 2017 National Hunt Chase at Cheltenham while she also landed the prestigious Kerry National at Listowel in 2016 on Wrath Of Titans before partnering Potters Point to success in the same race twelve months later.



Brodie Hampson (Britain)

Brodie has ridden 29 winners under rules (20 of which over jumps) and 14 point-to-point winners.  Her career highlight so far was the Royal Artillery Gold Cup on Jenny’s Surprise at Sandown for her father.  Brodie started riding when 16 when working for Sally Randell and now works for John O’Shea, riding most of his jumpers.



Aine O’Connor (Ireland)

Now based in the UK, Aine had previously ridden in Ireland for a number of years and is a very experienced rider. She enjoyed success on Coldstonesober in the 2017 renewal of the Ladies Grand National at Fairyhouse while she also partnered former dual Cheltenham Foxhunters Chase and Aintree Foxhunters Chase winner, On The Fringe, to a notable success in a hunters chase at Listowel last June for trainer Enda Bolger. In recent seasons, she has been based in England and has ridden 12 winners over there.



Tabitha Worsley (Britain)

Tabitha has ridden 12 winners under rules and 23 point-to-point winners.  Her career highlights so far are winning the Silver Plate at Perth last summer with Go West Young Man together with winning on Lough Inch to achieve the deciding win when he was leading horse. 

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services. Click here for more info
Accept Cookies